Lester B. Pearson School Board logo
Lester B. Pearson School Board

Governing Board

The Governing Board is a committee made up of parents, teachers and staff, who meet once a month to discuss school business. Governing Boards play a decisional role in schools. They are responsible for issues involving school life, including the school’s educational project, the annual budget and the development of school policies that meet the needs of all students and acts in the best interest of the students.

Our Governing Board consists of a maximum of 12 members; 5 parents, 5 staff members, plus 2 seats reserved for community representatives. The principal takes part in Governing Board meetings, but does not vote. Monthly meetings will be held in the evening.

Governing Board meetings are public and we invite you to attend. If you have an issue, concern, or question, please email us at riverview_GB@lbpearson.ca

Members 2022-2023

The Governing Board:

  • Analyzes the school’s situation in terms of the school board’s strategic plan
  • Adopts the educational project and oversees its implementation and periodic evaluation
  • Approves the school’s success plan, rules of conduct and the safety measures
  • Responds to LBPSB consultations (ex: Enrolment Criteria, Budget, Major School Change)
  • Review and approve proposed field trips by staff as well as fundraisers by Home & School
  • Reviews and allocates funds as proposed by staff and Home & School

2023-2024 Meeting Dates

January 9th, 2024 (virtual) 

February 13th, 2024 (virtual)

March 12, 2024 (virtual)

April 9th, 2024 (in-person)

May 14th, 2024 (in-person)

June 11th, 2024 (in-person)

Parents or other members of the public who wish to attend meetings are asked to contact the Governing Board chair at riverview_GB@lbpearson.ca to receive the link.

Parent Representatives

Ariana Winn (Chair) 

Tracey Brenie (Secretary)

Heidi Van Regan

Marcos Arteaga

Alison Henstridge

Parent Alternates

Ariana Winn 
Laruen Enright
Esther Laforest
Charlene Lewis Sutherland
Erin Mc Donagh
Rasha Moustaph (Secretary)

Staff Representatives

Paolina Barrafato (Teacher) 

Laurence Boucher (Teacher)

Sophie Perreault (Alternate)

Melissa Bourcier (SEED Coordinator)

Simone Viger (CLC Coordinator)

Staff Alternate

Dimitri Panayotidis

Community Representatives

Cindy Cohen (Non-voting member)
Sterling Downey (Non-voting member)

Allison Brown (Principal